## Bicentenary of Supreme Courts of Tasmania and New South Wales

This month marks the bicentenary of the establishment of the Supreme Court of Tasmania on 10 May 1824 and of the Supreme Court of New South Wales on 17 May 1824. Letters Patent pursuant to the *New South Wales Act 1823* (Imp) explained their establishment to have been for the "better administration of justice" and "more effective government" in the colony then known as New South Wales. Their establishment furnished the stable legal foundation for the ensuing creation and development of institutions of representative and responsible government in New South Wales and Tasmania. Their foundational roles were expanded when each took its place as one of six State Supreme Courts within the indissoluble system of national government agreed to by the Australian people and established by the Australian Constitution. Their nationally expanded roles endure. They have facilitated the realisation of Alfred Deakin's prediction in 1902 that "the natural development of [the Australian] judicial system" would make the unity of our courts "more pronounced, and the gradation more perfect". The Australian judiciary, as a whole, joins with the Supreme Court of Tasmania and the Supreme Court of New South Wales in celebrating this significant milestone in our shared national journey.

Stephen Gageler